Stihl executive elected chairman of Virginia Manufacturers Association

Scott Tilley, general counsel and member of the executive council of Stihl Inc., headquartered in Virginia Beach, Va., was elected 2016 chairman of the Virginia Manufacturers Association (VMA) by his peers.

Tilley was elected to the board in 2011 and has served as the vice chair for the past two years. In his role at Stihl Inc., Tilley manages the legal department, which includes product information, product compliance and safety/environmental functions.

“I am honored to have the opportunity to serve the Virginia Manufacturers Association as chairman,” said Tilley. “The coming year looks to have great potential for manufacturing growth in Virginia, and I expect the VMA to take a leadership role in promoting that growth. I look forward to working with my fellow board members and VMA staff as together we advocate for policies supportive of the manufacturing and business industries in Virginia.”

The other 2016 VMA officers elected were as follows:

* Immediate past chairman – Rob Hogan, Newport News Shipbuilding

* Chairman emeritus – David Moore, Universal Corporation

* Vice chairman – Jamie Baisden, QMT Associates Inc.

* Treasurer – Tanya Cook, Philip Morris USA

* Secretary – John Dyer, Optical Cable Corporation

* President & CEO – Brett Vassey, Virginia Manufacturers Association

New at-large directors elected this year include David Anderson, WestRock; Dorene Billingsley, HoneywellPerformance Materials and Technologies – Resins and Chemicals; Tom Godfrey, Colonna’s Shipyard; BeckyMerritt, Dominion Virginia Power; Ryan Ranalli, McKee Foods; and Cort Reiser, Liebherr Mining Equipment Co.

“The VMA team is inspired by the energy and commitment of this board,” said Brett Vassey, president & CEO. “Scott’s leadership is going to shepherd our organization and the manufacturing sector through a renaissance and expansion across the Commonwealth.”

Tilley comes to the chairman position with years of association experience. He has served on the Norfolk Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA) board of directors, as well as the executive board of the Virginia Beach Division of the Hampton Roads Chamber of Commerce. He is also past chair of the Outdoor Power Equipment Institute (OPEI) leaf blower task force, which created a variety of helpful tools and resources to assist landscapers on the proper use of leaf blowers in light of current regulations and ordinances. He is a member of the Defense Research Institute and has served in the Corporate Counsel section of the Virginia Bar Association. He currently serves as a Governor appointee to the Virginia Manufacturing Development Commission and has been appointed to the Virginia Beach Mayor’s Energy Advisory Committee.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *