OPEAA announces 2017-18 officers and directors

1704_OPE_IN_OPEAA logoThe Outdoor Power Equipment Aftermarket Association (OPEAA) announced its 2017-18 officers and board of directors during its 31st annual meeting held Feb. 4-6 in Plantation, Fla.

OPEAA officers for 2017 will be as follows: President Scott Harris, Blount International; Vice President Sue Chaney, K-C Sales Co.; and Secretary/Treasurer Britton Harold, Husqvarna.

Serving on OPEAA’s board of directors will be John Bauersfeld, Stens Corporation; Alyssa Dennis, NGK Spark Plugs; Donny Desjarlais, RBI Corporation; Kurt Hayes, MTD Products (Arnold); Chris Roessler, Rotary Corporation; and Walter Rieck, Prime Line.

OPEAA enjoyed a very successful annual meeting at the Omni Amelia Island in Plantation. The meeting not only provided several social networking opportunities, but was very productive. The conference opened with a cocktail reception held in conjunction with a silent auction to benefit the Bill Nelson Scholarship Fund, which offers scholarships to employees and families of OPEAA members. The business sessions included speakers who presented timely and relevant information for the industry.

“This year’s annual meeting highlighted many changes the outdoor power equipment industry is experiencing,” said second-term OPEAA President Scott Harris. “Market demands are shifting to include products powered by lithium-ion batteries and more-efficient gasoline engines. Consumer decision-making is vastly different from just a decade ago. Taking advantage of the digital tools available today allows our industry professionals to yield a better understanding of customer expectations and trends. OPEAA is entering this new fiscal year stronger than ever. I look forward to another productive year as the association president – serving our industry and the OPEAA member companies.”

For more information about OPEAA, visit www.opeaa.org.