Bill Nelson Scholarship Endowment announces 2017 recipients

The Bill Nelson Scholarship Endowment (BNSE) has awarded four scholarships, each in the amount of $2,500. Recipients for the 2017 awards are Natalie Carlson of Byron, Ill.; Morgan Conville, of Midland, N.C.; Blake Morman of Baltimore, Ohio; and Abigail Weber of Newburgh, Ind. (second-time winner).

Natalie Carlson graduated from Byron High School this year and plans to pursue studies in the STEM field at the University of Wisconsin. She aspires to be a dietician and help young people navigate their food difficulties. She has volunteered countless hours in her community at the Northern Illinois Hospice and as a soccer and swim coach. Her father is employed by Blount International.

Morgan Conville is majoring in Spanish and K-12 Education at the University of North Carolina-Asheville. She tutors struggling high-school Latino students and views teaching as the ultimate form of leadership. Her father is employed by Husqvarna.

Blake Morman graduated from Liberty Union High School this year. He has been accepted into Ohio State University’s Engineering program, where he will study chemical engineering. He has demonstrated leadership skills in numerous clubs and on his high school varsity track team. His father is employed by Rotary Corporation.

Abigail Weber is an Arts & Sciences undergraduate at Indiana University. She plans to become a wildlife biologist. During her freshman year, she has been an active member of IU’s Rosvall lab, the Dance Marathon public relations committee and the Outdoor Adventures program. Her father is employed by Rotary Corporation.

BNSE is an educational charity designed to advance the academic pursuits of employees and the children of employees who work for member companies of the Outdoor Power Equipment Aftermarket Association. The Endowment is governed by five Trustees: Sue Chaney, K-C Sales; Dave Errick, DE Errick, Inc.; Dale Marcell, Blount International; Ed Nelson, Rotary Corporation; and Jim Paugh, NGK Spark Plugs.

The BNSE Trustees would like to extend their appreciation to all the outstanding scholarship applicants, as well as their affiliated OPEAA member companies.